Your Cart is Empty

The Slackers - Self-Medication Black + 7" Vinyl LP

Over 30+ years, The Slackers have remained one of the most prolific musical combos in the game. In the course of drawing from a seemingly endless well of songwriting creativity, the band has released music on some of the biggest labels in independent music, as well as on much smaller boutique ska & reggae labels across the entire world, including NYC’s Special Potato, which has served as home to many of the band’s home-brew releases over the decades.

2008’s Self Medication LP was one of the latter releases, initially released on CD through Indication Records, and a single pressing on black vinyl from Special Potato/Indication. The record has been out of print for the ensuing 15 years and a tragically overlooked chapter in the band’s history.

In the spirit of the title, "Self Medication," this record reflects the band’s DIY roots. Recorded by a longtime friend of the band, King Django (Skinnerbox, Stubborn All-Stars), at New Brunswick, NJ’s Version City Studios, this record is primarily an in-house affair, with overdubs overseen by singer/multi-instrumentalist Vic Ruggiero & guitarist Agent Jay Nugent at their own Studio Slack & Crazy Baldhead Studios, respectively.

The sound of this record, then, is that of a band who have the talent and the confidence to chart their course, experimenting with a diverse sonic palette including elements of ska, reggae, swing, rock, and a lot of psychedelia, that nevertheless feels distinctly and unmistakably like them. And, of course, the band’s combination of earnest humanity and wry humor shines through in the lyrics, right from the opening line, “Every day is Sunday when you’re unemployed…” Indeed, this is the sound of The Slackers as dictated by The Slackers.

Pirates Press Records is thrilled to put Self Medication back in print - with worldwide distribution on colored vinyl for the first time - to be discovered or re-discovered by their countless fans worldwide. This definitive remastered version of the LP also features a bonus 7” with four additional songs from these productive and experimental sessions, which have only seen previous releases as digital rarities.

1. Every Day Is Sunday
2. Don’t You Want A Man
3. Don’t Forget The Streets
4. Estranged
5. Stars
6. Leave Me

7. Eviction
8. Happy Song
9. Self Medication
10. Don’t Have To
11. Walkin With Myself
12. Sing Your Song

SIDE A (7”)
1. See You In My Dreams
2. Lonely Nights

SIDE B (7”)
3. You Gotta Move
4. Rant

Pressing info:
1000pcs. - 12" Black Vinyl w/ 7" Black Vinyl
1000pcs. - 12" Blood Red w/ Black Smoke Vinyl w/ 7" Black Vinyl